Not-writing and reading and stuff

Camp NaNo is over for April and I managed to write 67k. That’s more then double what my increased goal was, which makes me feel really good. About 55k of that is Amanda-story sequel. The rest is Remy-story sequel.

I haven’t written much since April ended, though. I’ve written half of a scene in the original Amanda-story, because there are some parts I skipped over and I would like to fill those out. Like the week of taking care of a fake baby for school. Or the Thanksgiving storyline that I just kind of abandoned. Or the three weeks (?) between going down to the canyon and Amanda running away. I really need to fill out those parts.

Been reading a lot. Finished my library books and took them back. I was sorting through my location tags on LibraryThing, making sure everything was where it said it was, and I got nostalgic over my BabySitter’s Club books. So I’m reading some of them again. Finished two in the last four days, and have one more I want to read. These are all books I’ve read multiple times before, and I really should be concentrating more on my To-Be-Read bookcase instead of re-reading stuff, but it’s just so wonderful to re-read sometimes. I’m struggling with the idea of re-reading some of my Torey Hayden books… They are hard to read, emotionally, but so damn *GOOD*.  I’ve read 40 books so far this year and I’m going to keep the momentum as much as possible.

The last week or so I’ve been feeling really lousy, very overly-emotional and cry-y and stuff. I thought it was ToM, but then that went away and the emotions stayed. I worried that it might be a depression settling in, but the last two days have been fairly good. I haven’t had a major depression since I discovered Jenny Lawson back in September, and I fully credit her awesomeness for that. It was a turning point in my life,  becoming a part of her “tribe” and learning about Furiously Happy. I know better then to think that my depression is truly gone, but it’s much more manageable now.

Leave a Reply

